Nashville’s Tech Best Announced at 14th Annual NTC Awards
Written by: Alex Curtis | Posted Feb 17, 2023

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Feb. 16, 2023 – NASHVILLE, TN — The Greater Nashville Technology Council announced the winners of the 14th Annual NTC Awards, Presented by Amazon, live from the Wildhorse Saloon before hundreds of attendees on Thursday evening.

The event, co-hosted by Elise Cambournac, CEO and President of the Greater Nashville Technology Council, and Michelle Brown, Manager of Public Policy at Amazon in Nashville, brought together more than 500 attendees — representing more than 140 technology companies and related organizations in Middle Tennessee. All were present to celebrate this year’s technology champions in fourteen categories.

This year’s NTC Awards winners are listed below.

CIO of the Year
Casey Santos of Asurion

Community Leader of the Year
Charlie Apigian of Belmont

Cyber Security Leader of the Year
TJ Bean of HCA Healthcare

CTO of the Year
Trevor Hinesley of Soundstripe

Data Scientist of the Year
Christi French of Azra AI

D&I Advocate of the Year
Sam Zaza of MTSU

D&I Initiative of the Year
Blacks in Technology – Nashville

Emerging Leader of the Year
Elizabeth Mitchell of CGI

Innovator of the Year
Andrew Mitchell of the Mechanical Licensing Collective

Product Manager of the Year
Joshua Burnell of Asurion

Software Engineer of the Year
Dr. Teresa Vasquez of Repped in Tech

Technology Company of the Year

Technology Educator of the Year
Kelly Carey of MNPS

Tech Start Up of the Year
Azra AI


Special recognition was bestowed on Meg Chamblee, of UDig, who was announced as NTC’s Champion of the Year.

Matt Lawrence of Push Focus productions was recognized at this year’s awards for his 10 years of dedicated service to producing the NTC Awards.

Thank you to the following organizations for sponsoring this year’s NTC Awards:

Presenting: Amazon
Diversity and Inclusion Advocate of the Year: AllianceBernstein
Innovator of the Year: CDW
Product Manager of the Year: Okta
Software Engineer of the Year: Asurion
Technology Company of the Year: Fortinet
Technology Educator of the Year: Belmont & Vanderbilt
CIO of the Year: Kraft
Community Leader of the Year: HCA
CTO of the Year: Vaco
Data Scientist of the Year: Qlik
Diversity and Inclusion Initiative of the Year: Deloitte
Emerging Leader of the Year: Nissan
Cyber Security Leader of the Year: Microsoft
Technology Start-Up of the Year: Comcast
After Party Sponsor: Red Hat
Winners Circle Video Interviews: Invest Northern Ireland
ELITE Reception Sponsors: Five9, Momentum, RCG
Photobooth Sponsor: Saviynt
Welcome Sponsor: Formos
Finalist Luncheon Sponsor: CGI
Supporting Sponsors: CereCore & MoveWorks
Judging Audit Sponsors: LBMC & Kraft CPAs
Website Sponsor: PushFocus

The NTC Team worked with a dream team of organizations to produce the NTC Awards. The design of this year’s NTC Awards guitars and logo was created by Proforma. Event production assistance provided by Oak Ridge Association Management Company. The on-site photographers were Nathan Zucker and Angelina Castillo. And finally, Push Focus led the event’s video production. 

Special thanks to Deahna Cring, Haylee Eldridge, and the NTC Team.

More details about each award, its sponsor, and finalists can be found on the NTC Awards website, Photos and interviews with the winners will be made available here.




About the Greater Nashville Technology Council

The Greater Nashville Technology Council is the catalyst for creating America’s premiere collaborative and innovative tech community. We strive to be the pre-eminent technology council and the leading voice and advocate for the growth of Middle Tennessee’s $8 billion information tech ecosystem; and the 60,000+ technology professionals who design, implement, manage, and safeguard the technology that powers our region’s economy.  Our mission is to advance the diverse technology ecosystem by connecting and promoting members, attracting, growing and retaining tech talent, and providing opportunities to reinvest in the Greater Nashville community. For more information, please go to