Final 9th Annual NTC Award Nominees Announced
Written by: Alex Curtis | Posted Dec 7, 2017

At the NTC Holiday Party on December 6, along with celebrating the holidays, every year, we take the opportunity of the amazing gathering to announce our final nominees for the upcoming NTC Awards. In 2018, the 9th Annual Awards are on January 25 at the Wildhorse Saloon — this year it will be 80s theme, cohosted by Martha Ivester and Derek Young.

A member of the NTC Awards planning committee oversees the nominee selection process, coordinating over 70 judges from across Middle TN, collecting and tallying the vote. This keeps the NTC staff out of the process and lets us enjoy the surprise as much as the rest of the tech community.

This year, the awards judges had their work cut out for them with some 300 nominations in 14 categories. They narrowed it down to the final three for each award.

Here are the final three NTC Award Nominees in each category:

CIO of the Year

Chris Bayham – Change Healthcare

David Houghton – Ingram Barge

Haden McWhorter – Premise Health


CISO of the Year

John Griffey – Metro Government of Nashville

Haddon Bennett – Change Healthcare

Joe Degati – Axial Healthcare


CTO of the Year

Paul Currie – HCA IT&S

Christopher Yancey – SmileDirectClub

David Ells – Watershed Systems


Community Leader of the Year

Joanne Eckton – Eckton Enterprises

Beth Hoeg – Trinisys

Charlie Apigian – MTSU


Company of the Year





Data Scientist of the Year

Christi French – Digital Reasoning

Elizabeth Ann Stringer – Axial Healthcare

Faker Zouaoui – Asurion


Diversity Game Changer of the Year

Black in Tech Nashville


Scripturally Sound


Emerging Company of the Year

Satchel Health


Hytch, LLC


Emerging Leader of the Year

Chris Boyd – Built Technologies, Inc.

Chris Redhage – ProviderTrust

Christopher Lane – Axial Healthcare


Infrastructure Group of the Year


Watershed Systems

HCA Infrastructure Services & Operations

Innovator of the Year

Mike Butera, Ph.D. – Artiphon

Rob Watkins – Tennessee Justice Center

John Bass – Hashed Health


Software Developer/Architect of the Year

Alishah Novin – HPA – A Cognizant Company

Sergei Temkin – 360view

Jason Bunn – BlackBox Realities


Technology Student of the Year

Gabrielle Liu – Ravenwood High School

Andrew Kerley – Lipscomb University College of Computing and Technology

Fangzhou Sun – Vanderbilt University


Team of the Year

Paul Peterson – Virsys12

HCA IT&S Patient Identification Team

David Houghton – Ingram Connect Team at Ingram Barge


Congratulations to All the Nominees!